Assemblies of the Roman Republic

Assembly:	Curiate Assembly (comitia curiata)	Centuriate Assembly (comitia centuriata)	Council of the Plebs (concilium plebis)	Tribal Assembly (comitia populi tributa)	Council of Elders (Senate)
Created in:	early monarchy	ca. 550 BC	ca. 480 BC	NLT 450 BC	early monarchy
Organized into:	curiae	property classes, subdivided into centuries	territorial tribes	territorial tribes	300 members; consists of ex-magistrates, ranked by the highest office they have held; senators serve for life
Convoked by:		consuls or praetors	tribunes of the plebs	consuls or praetors	consuls, praetors, or tribunes
Elects:	does not elect	consuls praetors censors	tribunes of the plebs plebeian aediles	quaestors military tribunes curule aediles	does not elect
Legislates:	no; confirms election of consuls and praetors via lex curiata de imperio	yes (laws passed by this assembly have the title lex)	yes (laws passed by this assembly have the title plebiscita)	yes (laws passed by this assembly have the title lex)	does not legislate; it advises magistrates via a senatus consultum which is effectively binding
Other Functions:		declares war and peace; levies death penalty		holds minor trials	assigns provinces to governors; oversees foreign policy, military policy, and finances